## Minutes of the Executive Council of the Indian Cryogenic Council Meeting held at INOX Office. Vadodora on August 24, 2014

A meeting of the Executive Council (EC) of the ICC was held at Vododora on August 24, 2014. This meeting was organized after the theme meeting on Institute- Industry interaction held on August 23, 2015. Dr. R.K. Bhandari, President (ICC) chaired the meeting. Following members were present:

Dr. R.K. Bhandari President, ICC
 Prof. S L Bapat Vice President)

3. Prof. R. Singh Member

4. Dr R G Sharma Vice President

5. Dr. T.S. Datta Secretary (Administration)

6. Prof. M. D Atrey
Member
7. Dr. B Sarkar
Member
8. Mr P Kulkarni
Invitee (Host)
9. Mr Trilok Singh
Member
10. Mr. Panjoani
Invitee (Host)
11. Dr. K Gireesan
Member
12. Mr Soumen Kar
Member

12. Mr Soumen Kar Member13. Prof. Sunil Sarangi Vice President

14. Prof H B Naik Member (West Zone)

The meeting started at 10.00 AM at the meeting room of M/s. INOX India Ltd. Vadodora Dr. Bhandari, President (ICC) welcomed the members to this meeting. Items as per the agenda were taken up by the EC and following decisions were taken after extensive discussions:

- 1. The minutes of last EC meeting held on November 7, 2013 at VECC. Kolkata were placed before the EC. Members were informed that the minutes were circulated in due time. After a brief discussion, the minutes were approved.
- 2 Applications received from 20 persons after November 2013, seeking membership of the ICC, were circulated. EC approved the induction of these 20 additional members to ICC.
- 3 Dr R G Sharma reported about the publication of Indian Journal of Cryogenics, Vol 39(2014) with 38 papers as a special issue of the Proceedings of NSC 24. The remaining 34 papers will be published in Vol 40 by January 2015. It was informed that an MOU has been signed between ICC and Indian journals. com for on-line publication. Members will receive free on-line version through registration. Hard copy will be distributed to librareis and to first Authors. EC welcomed the on-line publication. Prof . H B Naik agreed to find out the SERC procedure for this journal.
- 4 Dr. T S Datta briefed EC about the activity report of Delhi office. Audited report till March 2014 was approved by EC. He also mentioned about receipt

- of Rs. 4.00 lakhs from University Grants Commission for the Journal publication and related office Expenditure. It was informed that no progress has been made on obtaining Income tax exemption certificate by the Kolkata office. Mr. P Kulkarni kindly agreed to provide professional advice on income tax exemption. Statement of Accounts was also presented by Prof M D Atrey, Dr Gireesan and Dr R G Sharma for the respective zone. The members were also informed about launching of independent website for Indian cryogenics council. Earlier it was attached to IUAC website.
- 5 Prof R Singh presented a status report on preparations for 25 th. National Symposium on Cryogenics (NSC-25) to be held at University of Hyderabad during December 8- 10, 2014. EC members thanked Prof R Singh for his sincere efforts to organize NSC-25.
- 6 Dr Gireesan informed about the starting of an online interactive discussion forum( <a href="www.iccforum.in">www.iccforum.in</a>) to discuss issues related to research and development activities in the area of cryogenics in India. Members appreciated the efforts of South zone
- 7 Dr T S Datta briefed about the official announcement of ICEC 26- ICMC 2016 to be held in Delhi during March 7- 11, 2016. Most probable venue is Manekshaw Centre, and alternatively at JNU Convention Centre. Members welcomed this prestigious event to be held in India after 16 years.
- 8 Dr R K Bhandari initiated the discussion about the election of Fellows of ICC. It was informed that the committee appointed by EC as advised by GB elected 34 fellows based on the guidelines decided by EC. The Recommended list of fellows was displayed to EC. After going through the list EC approved it. It was decided that the Fellows list will be announced in the coming AGM at Hyderabad. Subsequently, it will be officially announced on the ICC website.
- 9 Dr. T S Data, as one of the member of special committee (Constituted by EC) to recommend names for the life time achievement award, presented the guide lines followed by the committee. The recommended names are:
  - i) Prof. R Srinivasan
  - ii) Dr. R G Sharma
  - iii) Dr. TS Radhakrishnan

EC unanimously approved the recommended names for life time achievement awards to be presented during NSC-25 at Hyderabad.

- 10 Based on the evaluation by screening committee and by the respective chairman for each technical session and poster session of NSC-24, three presentations (Contributory oral and Poster) were recommended for best paper award. EC approved the recommendation of best paper award to be given to the first author and their names are,
  - i) Dr V L Tanna, (IPR, Gandhinagar)
  - ii) Mr. Rajvir Singh Doohan (RRCAT, Indore)

It was decided that award will be given during NSC-25

- 11 Dr. B Sarkar initiated the discussion on transfer of unspent balance of Rs 28.00 lakhs from NSC -24. In the earlier EC meeting in November 2013 at VECC, Prof Y C Saxena had presented a brief account of NSC-24, organized by IPR. In that meeting, EC had decided that Rs. 7.00 lakhs be kept for Journal Proceedings, Rs. 15.00 lakhs be kept in fixed deposit in a bank along with the present fixed deposit of Rs. 10.00 lakhs at the Delhi Office. The remaining Rs. 6.00 lakhs to be retained by the West Zone. Dr Sarkar proposed to institute a chair by ICC with a monthly honorarium. He proposed that other than the proceeding money, remaining Rs. 21.00 lakhs may be fixed deposited by ICC Delhi office and the accumulated interest will be used for the chair honorarium and the ICC Awards. There was also a proposal for travel support to students for attending International conferences. Majority of the west zone members had reservations about transfer of their share of Rs. 6.00 lakhs to ICC Delhi Office. The discussions were, however, inconclusive. All EC members appreciated the effort by Prof Y C Saxena and Dr B Sarkar to have a significant amount of saving in addition to organizing a national conference of international standard.
- 12 Dr. T S Data informed that the term of present EC will be over in March 2015 and a new EC has to be constituted for the term 2015- 2017. It was also informed that as per by- laws the present President and secretaries can not be nominated for the third term. The EC discussed the matter. Considering the upcoming prestigious International conference (ICEC26- ICMC 2016) in Delhi during March ,2016. The EC members favoured an extension of present committee for year till March 2016. The extension needs to be approved by GB.

As there will not be any national symposium on cryogenics before April 2016, EC decided to prepare the list of Nominated EC members for 2016-2018 and get it be approved by GB in the coming AGM during NSC-25 at University of Hyderabad. The approved list by present EC is attached here.

At the end Dr Bhandari thanked Mr. P Kulkarni, CEO, M/s. INOX India Ltd. and his team for the local hospitality and support on hosting this meeting. The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair.