Minutes of the Meeting of the Executive Council at VECC

(August 10, 2016)

The meeting of the Executive Council (EC) of the ICC took place on August 10, 2016 at VECC, Kolkata. Following persons were present:

2. Dr. R.K. Bhandari	Past President (IUAC)
3. Dr. R.G. Sharma	Vice President (IUAC)
4. Dr. Soumen Kar	Secretary (Administration, IUAC)
5. Mr. Anjan Dutta Gupta	Secretary (Technical, VECC)
6. Prof. Y.C. Saxena	Member (Ex. IPR)
7. Mr. D.S. Nadig	Invitee (II Sc., Bangalore)
8. Prof. MD Atrey	Vice President (IIT. Mumbai)
9. Prof. R. Singh	Member (Hyderabad University)
10. Prof. Sunil Sarangi	Vice President (KIT University, Bhubaneswar)
11. Dr. T. Bhowmick	Member (DH Industries, Delhi)
12. Mr. Subimal Saha	Invitee, Ex- secretary (VECC)
13. Dr. Sandeep Pal	Invitee, East Zone (VECC)

Invitee, East Zone (VECC)

Member (IIT. Kharagpur)

Editor, IJC (IIT. Kharagpur)

Invitee (Jadavpur University)

Member (Jadavpur University.)

Joint Treasurer (VECC)

President (IUAC)

1. Dr. T.S. Datta (Chair)

14. Mr. Tamal Bhattacharya

15. Dr. U. Bhunia

16. Prof. V V Rao

17. Prof. P S Ghosh

18. Mr. S Choudhury

19. Dr. S.C. Sarkar

The meeting started at 11.00 A. M at the VECC Council room. Dr. T S Datta, President ICC welcomed the members and opened the proceedings. Members went through the decisions taken at the last EC meeting dated November 2015 and also approved the minutes of this meeting. The discussion Items as per the agenda List were taken up and the following decisions were taken

1. The Council approved the induction of 12 new members. It was also decided that new member's name should appear in the ICC website only after the approval of the EC . It was informed that as of today the total number of new members stands at 297 in addition to 250 old members.

- 2. Dr. T S Datta as Chair of local organizing committee presented a brief report on the ICEC 26- ICMC 2016 International conference organized by the ICC and IUAC at Manekshaw Centre New Delhi during 8-11 March, 2016. It was informed that the total delegates were 540 that includes 210 delegates from abroad with a good support from Cryogenic industries from all over world. In total 330 papers were presented that includes 6 plenary talks, 18 Invited talks, 101 contributed oral talks and 260 posters. Members congratulated Dr. Datta, Dr. R G Sharma, Dr Soumen Kar and their team for having organized this prestigious conference successfully. Income- expenditure report along with the review process for 237 received manuscripts to be published in IOP Proceeding Series were discussed. In response to the query about honorarium for the Course speakers, it was informed that Conference Organizing committee decided to waive the registration fee for the speakers if requested and accordingly registration fee was waived for Prof. Venkat Selvamanickam (USA). EC suggested to consider payment of honorarium (Equivalent amount of registration fee) to other two lecturers (who has already paid registration fee) . It was also informed that no separate course fee was charged from students except the boarding cost.
- 3 . Dr. RG Sharma, Chief Editor of Indian Journal of Cryogenics (IJC) informed the members that Vol. 41 (2016) of the IJC was released in July, 2016 and a sample copy was presented to EC . The Vol. 41 contains a review article on fusion by an eminent scientist and 27 contributed papers. Dr. Sharma requested the members to screen the manuscripts written by their students before submission. He also appealed for the improvement of the quality of the papers so as to bring IJC closer to international standard.
- 4. Dr. Soumen Kar, Secretary (Administration) presented the financial health of the ICC which is quite comfortable and crosses the target of one crore after the transfer of savings from ICEC 26 conference. It was suggested that about Rs. 15 lakhs may be kept in the saving account to meet expenses and the rest about 90 lakhs can be parked in FD.
- 5. Discussion on the HQ ICC came up next and the Council once again showed its urgency on getting the tax exemption from income tax. It was decided that Mr. Chaudhury and Dr. S C Sarkar from Jadavpur University along with Mr. Anjan and Mr. Subimal Saha from VECC take up this issue on priority basis and engage a consultant/CA on payment basis.
- 6 . EC (ICC) after a long discussion with VECC members finalized the dates (February 22- 24, 2017) for 26 th. National Symposium on Cryogenics to be organized by VECC. Mr. Anjan Duttagupta was requested to get the formal approval from the Director, VECC. To attract the delegates from the field of superconductivity, EC approved the new name of the conference as 26 th. National Symposium on Cryogenics and Superconductivity (NSCS-26)
- 7. Prof. M D Atrey presented a report on the West Zone activities. He told the members that Prof. Van Sciver spent 3 days at IITB immediately after the ICEC 26 conference and delivered lectures. The elections for the West Zone office bearers were held sometimes back. Prof. Atrey has been elected Chairman, Prof. H.B. Naik as Secretary in addition to other members. He also handed over the audited balance sheet of the West Zone for the FY 2015-16 to President ICC. It was informed that a committee with following members (Prof. S. L Bapat and Dr. Tirlok Singh) was constituted for the sale of the flat, which was purchased by West zone after the ICEC 18 conference in Mumbai. Bids for the sale have already been received by the committee.

- 8. In the Audit report of Kolkata Office, some liability issue of Rs. 64,000 for printing was pending for long and there is no claimanent. EC agreed that the liability of Rs 64000/- may be deleted from balance sheet and need not be reflected in the audit report.
- 9. Procedure to elect new Fellows of ICC keeping the upper limit to the fellows within 20 % of the total strength was discussed at length. A six member committee was constituted to take up this work. The members of this committee are:
- 1. Dr. R G Sharma (Chair)
- 2. Prof. Sunil Sarangi
- 3. Dr. R K Bhandari
- 4. Dr. Amit Roy
- 5. Prof. Y C Saxena
- 6. Prof. R Singh

The committee will come up with the guidelines for the nomination as well as the format of the Nomination Form. It was also proposed that ICC will bring out a directory with a list of Fellows, their photo and a brief profile.

Similarly a committee for the selection of Life Time Achievement Awardees (in the field of Cryogenics, & Applied Superconductivity) was constituted by EC with the following members.

- 1. Dr. T S Datta (Chair)
- 2. Prof. M D Atrey
- 3. Prof. VV Rao
- 4. Prof. Karunanithi
- 5. Dr. T. Bhowmick

In addition to that EC also approved the "Leadership Award" to promote cryogenics and Superconductivity in India. The same committee for the selection of Life Time Achievement Award will also recommend the names for Leadership Awardees to EC. All Awards will be presented during the NSCS-26 at Kolkata

Dr. RG Sharma expressed his concern about the superconductivity community of the country drifting away from the symposia and the ICC. The community feels the ICC and the symposia has tilted heavily towards hardcore cryogenics even though ICC was formed by Low Temperatures Physicists. To attract more participation from the superconductivity people it was propose to change the name of the National Symposium of Cryogenics (NSC) to National Symposium on Cryogenics & Superconductivity (NSCS). Similarly EC agreed to change the name of Indian journal of Cryogenics subject to the rules for ISSN no. etc.

At the end, Dr T S Datta thanked Director, VECC and the members from VECC for the local hospitality and support on hosting this meeting. The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair