Minutes of the Meeting of the Executive Council at VECC (Feb. 21, 2017)

The meeting of the Executive Council of the ICC took place on February. 21, 2017 at VECC, Kolkata. This meeting was organized on the eve of National Symposium on Cryogenics and Superconductivity, NSCS-26 (Feb. 22-24), 2017. Following were present:

1. Dr. T.S. Datta (Chair)	President (IUAC)
2. Dr. R.G. Sharma	Vice President (IUAC)
3. Prof. R. Karunanithi	Vice President (IISc. Bangalore)
4. Prof. MD Atrey	Vice President (IIT. Mumbai)
5. Prof. ESR Gopal	Invitee (IISc, Bangalore)
6. Dr. R.K. Bhandari	Past President ICC (IUAC)
7. Dr. Anjan Datta Gupta	Secretary (Technical) (VECC)
8. Dr. Soumen Kar	Secretary (Administration) (IUAC)
9. Dr. Sumit Som	Invitee (VECC)
10. Mr. P. Kulkarni	Member (INOX)
11. Prof. R. Singh	Member (Hyderabad university)
12. Prof. Y.C. Saxena	Member (Ex IPR)
13. Dr. T. Bhowmick	Member (Tudinous Kryos, Delhi)
14. Dr. U. Bhunia	Joint Treasurer (VECC)
15. Mr. Trilok Singh	Invitee (Ex BARC)
16. Mr Tamal. Bhattacharya	Invitee (VECC)

Dr. T S Datta welcomed the EC members and invitees. After some introductory remarks, items as per the agenda were taken up.

1. The members unanimously confirmed the minutes of the previous EC meeting held on August 10, 2016.

2. Members approved the induction of 31 new Life Members to ICC fold based on the eligibility criteria.

3. Dr. R G Sharma briefed the members about the publication of the Vol. 41 of the Indian Journal of Cryogenics (IJC). Vol. 41 came out in August 2016 and preparation of Vol. 42 is going on. He told the members that review work was bit slow because our expert referees were also tied down with the review of papers submitted for the Proceedings of the ICEC26-ICMC2016. Some members raised the issue of some difficulty in accessing IJCS from Indian Journals site to which the President ICC promised to take up the matter with Indian Journals and will be sorted out soon.

4. As the activities and accounts of the ICC and the Zonal Branches was discussed in detail in the last meeting in August, 2016, it was decided to present in the next day in the General Body Meeting.

5. Dr. RG Sharma informed the members that only two nominations, namely of Prof. Ranjit Kumar Sahoo of NIT Rourkela and Dr V Narayananan from LPSC / ISRO) were received for being elected as Fellows ICC and the concerned committee members consented to both in view of their great contributions to the development of cryogenic programmes in India and their own achievements. Members approved the induction of both in the august body of Fellows (2017).

EC also decided that nominations for Fellowship can be made any time during the year and nomination procedure details will be available in ICC website.

6. Dr. Anjan Datta Gupta, Secretary (Technical) ICC briefed the members about the preparations made for the NSCS-26 and some teething problems faced by the organizers in opening the Symposium bank account but they could manage and they were able to organize the symposium on time. He also told the EC that an amount of Rs 1.00 lakh as seed money was transferred from ICC Delhi Office to the Conference account.

7. A discussion was initiated by Dr. T S Datta on the desirably of instituting other awards like Young Achiever Award / Group Achievement Award and a Chair in the name of the Prof. A. Bose. (Founder President of ICC)

Members agreed for young achiever award and it was decided that age limit may be 45 at the beginning and if required age limit can be lowered down in future. About group Achiever award, after a long discussion members decided to postpone it.

About Chair professor, again there was a lengthy interactive discussion. Members did agree that this is the best way to to honour the memory of the ICC founder, Prof. A. Bose but expressed their concern about the financial implications. President ICC however assured the members that just 50 % of the interest on present fixed deposits will be good enough to take care of such expenditure. Finally EC decided that a committee may be constituted to look in to details about the objective and responsibility of ICC chair along with selection procedure/ honorarium to be paid on monthly basis etc.

8. A discussion on Industry- Institute interaction was initiated by Mr. Parag Kulkarni. Members felt that a well defined policy is a must to propagate cryogenic programmes in India and to attract Industry participation. It was also discussed that the support from DST should be solicited. EC constituted a committee with following members to submit their recommendation to EC for further action. The committee members are

- 1. Mr Parag Kulkarni
- 2. Dr Tushar Bhowmick
- 3. Mr. Trilok Singh
- 4. Prof. M. D Atrey

9. Dr. T S Datta informed the members that Dr. Anurag Gupta (NPL) presently treasurer (ICC) has not been responsive and have not taken part in any meeting or activity of the ICC. He proposed the name of Dr R S Meena (NPL) as treasurer in place of Dr. Anurag Gupta. EC approved the nomination of Dr R S Meena and decided to have the approval of GB.

10. Discussion next focused on the long standing issue of shifting the ICC HQ from Jadavpur University to VECC. Prof. YC Saxena reiterated that this can be done by hiring the services of a consultant. ICC will pay for the consultancy and any travel / incidental charges needed for the job. A committee consisting of Mr. Subimal Saha, Mr. Randhir Dey, Dr Uttam Bhunia, Mr. Tamal Bhattacharya and Dr S C Sarkar/ S K Choudhury (JU) was constituted to do this job. Same committee will also complete the pending audit of ICC Kolkata office and will get the all time Income tax exemption certificate from Kolkata. Mr. Parag Kulkarni offered his services and help the committee by co-ordinating with the ICC President. Once the address of Registered Office is changed from Jadavpur University to VECC, action will be initiated to merge Delhi office account with Kolkata office account.

11. The EC also approved that the authorized signatories to the ICC account of Kolkata office will be any two of Mr. Anjan Datta Gupta, Mr. Uttam Bhunia and Mr. Subimal Saha.

11. Considering the role of Mr Subimal Saha and Mr Ranadhir De, EC agreed to induct both in EC (ICC) as coopted Member

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair.