Minutes of the Executive Council of the Indian Cryogenic Council Held at IUAC, New Delhi on Nov. 18, 2011

A meeting of the Executive Council (EC) of the ICC was held at the IUAC, New Delhi during the ACASC – 2011 on Nov. 18, 2011. Dr. R.K. Bhandari, the President ICC chaired this meeting. Following were present

1. Dr. R.K. Bhandari President,ICC

Dr. Amit Roy Past President, ICC

3. Prof. Subhash Jacob Invitee

4. Prof. R. Singh Member

5. Mr. Subimal Saha Secretary (Technical)

6. Mr. T.S. Datta Secretary (Administration)

7. Dr. Harikishan Joint Treasurer

8. Mr. Gautam Pal Treasurer

9. Mr. Randhir Dey Member (East Zone)

10. Dr. B. Sarkar Member11. Mr. Trilok Singh Member

12. Dr. R.G. Sharma Member

13. Dr. Geeresan Secretary (East Zone)14. Dr. Bapat Member (West Zone)

15. Prof Sunil Sarangi Vice President

The meeting started at 6.00 PM in the IUAC Council Room. Dr. Amit Roy. welcomed the members to IUAC. Dr. Bhandari, President, ICC too welcomed the members to this meeting. He thanked Dr Amit Roy and T S Datta, the Convener ACASC – 2011 and his colleagues from IUAC for having organized a

very successful Asian Conference. The members joined him to congratulate IUAC for the same.

1. Mr. T S Datta then presented the report on ACASC-2011 before the EC. He gave the break-up of the Invited Talks (17), the Contributed papers presented Orally (15) and through Posters (131). He gave the break-up of the funds received from various agencies like BRFST, CSIR, DST, BRNS and the money received from industry through advertisements and Exhibition Stalls. He also gave an estimate of the expenditure likely to be incurred. It was pointed out that the financial situation of ICC will improve by another 10- 15 lakhs from the balance of income and expenditure.

Most of the institutions in the country engaged in research on Superconductivity and Cryogenics were represented at the conference with the exception of RRCAT.

2 Mr. Subimal Saha, Secretary(Technical) then made a presentation on the activity of ICC. He briefed the committee that the ICC Canara bank account has been shifted from Jadavpur to Salt Lake Branch. The bank account has a present balance of Rs. 1,03,616 which includes an income of Rs. 90,335 during 2010 – 2011. There was no expenditure during the current year.

To initiate the formalities of Address change of Registered office from Jadavpur University to VECC. Kolkata, the following pending jobs like Audited statement of ICC Head office from 2006 onwards, PAN Card correction and, income tax exemption for ICC from 2007 onward to be completed. Mr Choudhury and Mr Debashis Sen from Jadabpur University kindly agreed to do this job. The EC agreed for a payment of Rs. 10,000 as service charges. The EC also agreed to clear the pending bill (Approx 1.00 lakhs) of earlier printer M/S Akar of Kolkata in 2-3 installments. Grant for publication came up for discussion. T S

Datta informed about enhancement of grant by DST to 1.00 lakhs compared to earlier of Rs 40,000/-. It was also informed about the grant of Rs 50,000/- by WB government.

3 Dr. Hari Kishan of NPL then made the presentation about the activities of the North Zone. He told the Committee that about Rs. 10,000 are lying in the current account and there are some FDs amounting to Rs. 100,000. It was pointed out that Audit for last 2-3 years are not yet completed. In view of the fact that elections for the official bearers have not been made for a very long time and the present office bearers of this Zone have retired and are not active at all, EC suggested for a ADHOC committee. Based on the suggestion by EC, President, ICC dissolved the present EC of the North Zone and announce an ADHOC Committee to replace the present EC. The ADHOC Committee announced is as follows:

(i) Dr. R.G. Sharma (IUAC) Chairman(ii) Mr. Soumen Kar (IUAC) Secretary

(iii) Dr. Hari Kishan (NPL) Treasurar

(iv) Dr. Anurag Gupta (NPL) Member

(v) Mr R B Saxena (Vico) Member

It was also decided that Adhoc committee will initiate the election of committee within one year.

4. Report on the activity of West Zone was made by the Dr. Bapat. He told the EC that Bank Account statement and expenditure details from 2008 onwards are available with the present committee. Documents related to accounts from the year 2000 to 2008 are not available. It was decided that a statement of Account from 2008 onwards to be prepared and to be sent to President, ICC as early as possible. Dr. Bhandari President, ICC and Dr Amit

Roy (Immediate Past President,ICC) will write to Prof K G Narayankhedkar for the A/C statement from 2000 to 2008 onwards. EC also felt that election of west zone should be initiated immediately. Prof Bapat agreed on this.

5 Prof. Subhash Jacob made a report on the activity of South Zone. He told the EC that a new Committee has taken over since 2011. Dr. Janawadkar from IGCAR, Kalpakkam has taken overas the Chairman and Dr. Geeresan as Secretary. An amount of Rs. 4,50,000 has been transferred

- 6. Mr. Randheer Dey made a brief presentation on the activity of the East Zone: It was informed that new EC (East Zone) is effective from April 2011 and Prof Sunil Sarangi is the Chairman of ICC East Zone. Other members are from VECC. IIT(Kharagpur), IACS and CRCT.
- 7. EC was informed about the nomination of Prof. Subhash Jacob as ICEC Board member from India. He will replace Prof K.G Narayankhedkar. Prof Subhas jacob informed EC members about the email correspondences between T S Datta and ICEC international members about willingness to host ICEC 26 in 2016 in India. After a detailed discussion, members felt that India should bid for ICEC 26 in the ICEC meeting to be held in Japan during ICEC 24. Considering infrastructure and connectivity with other country, members felt that Delhi will be the best choice. T S Datta expressed his willingness and enthusiasm to take the responsibility on organising the ICEC 26 with the support of Dr R K Bhandari, President (ICC), Dr Amit Roy, Director IUAC and Prof Subhash Jacob Member ICEC. All agreed to have necessary support. The EC agreed on this and advised T S Datta and Prof Subhas Jacob to initiate the process.
- 8. Dr R K Bhandari informed EC members about one day workshop at VECC on December 23, 2011 to celebrate Centenary year of Superconductivity

and Birth centenary of Prof A. Bose, Founder President of ICC. Members welcomed the decision.

- 9. T S Datta Informed about Editorial board members meeting at IUAC in July 2011 for the publication of Volume 36 (2011) and Volume 37 (2012). It was informed that Volume 36 with 32 papers will be ready by December 2011 and Volume 37 by April 2012. EC appreciated the quality of journal and printing work. EC approved the continuation of Printer M/S New India and Auditor M/s O P Gupta for Audited work at IUAC. It was also decided that few shortlisted papers received at ACASC 2011 will be considered for publication in Cryogenics and rest of the papers will be in Indian Journal of Cryogenics.
- 10. Dr. B. Sarkar Informed about the Status of Twenty Forth National Symposium on Cryogenics to be held at IPR. Gandhinagar in 2012.

The Meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair.