## Minutes of the Executive Council of the Indian Cryogenic Council held at VECC, Kolkata on November 7, 2013

A meeting of the Executive Council (EC) of the ICC was held at the VECC, Kolkata on November 7, 2013. Dr. R.K. Bhandari, President (ICC) chaired the meeting. Following were present

1. Dr. R.K. Bhandari President,ICC

2. Prof. Y C Saxena Chairman, NSC 24(Invitee)

3. Prof. R. Singh Member

4. Mr. Subimal Saha Secretary (Technical)
5. Mr. T.S. Datta Secretary (Administration)

6. Mr. Gautam Pal Treasurer

7. Dr. Sandip Pal Member (East Zone) 8. Dr. R.G. Sharma Vice President

9. Mr Trilok Singh Member

10. Mr. Tamal Bhattacharya
11. Dr. K Gireesan
12. Mr A. K Sahu
Member (East Zone)
Secretary (South Zone)
Invitee, Guest Editor

13. Prof. V V Rao Member

The meeting started at 10.30 AM at the VECC Council room. Dr. Bhandari, President (ICC) welcomed the members to this meeting. Items as per the agenda were taken up by the EC and following decisions were taken:

- 1. The minutes of General Body Meeting held on January 19, 2013 at IPR. Gandhinagar were placed before the EC. After a brief discussion the EC confirmed and approved the minutes unanimously.
- 2 Applications received from 50 persons after August 2012, seeking membership of the ICC, was circulated. EC approved the induction of these 50 additional members to ICC.
- 3 Mr. Subimal Saha, Secretary (Technical) briefed the EC about the status on paper work related with the change of address of the Head Office from Jadavpur to VECC as well as the income tax exemption certificate. Mr. T S Datta briefed about the activity of the President Office (Delhi) and presented audited report for the FY ending March 2013. Statement of Accounts along with the audit report was approved by the EC. Mr Trilok Singh informed the EC about the completion of auditing for the West Zone and Dr Gireesan informed about the statement of Accounts for the South Zone. The President requested all the Zonal officials to make the auditing of their respective zones up to date.
- 4 Dr R G Sharma and T S Datta (Editorial Board Members) briefed the E C about the timely publication of the Vol. 38 (2013) containing 40 research papers, presented at ACACS 2011. Prof Y C Saxena and Mr A. K Sahu

- informed the EC that 125 papers received from the participants of NSC 24 have been sent to Reviewers and an editorial meeting will be organized in January/February, 2014 either at IPR or at IUAC. President once again requested for electronic publication of Indian Journal of Cryogenics
- 5 Prof R Singh thanked ICC for accepting the proposal to host National Symposium on Cryogenics- 25 at the Hyderabad University. He also informed the EC that VC has already given his approval for hosting this symposium. The EC recommended that the symposium may be held in the first week of December, 2014
- 6 Prof Y C Saxena presented a brief account of NSC-24, organized by IPR. The total available budget was 53.00 lakhs which includes registration fee, contribution from sponsors and funding from Govt agencies. From the unspent balance of approx. 28.00 lakhs, EC decided that 7.00 lakhs be kept for Journal Proceedings, 15.00 lakhs be kept in fixed deposit along with the present fixed deposit of 10.00 lakhs at the Delhi Office. The accumulated interest will be used for ICC Awards which will be instituted soon. 5.00 lakhs will be kept with West Zone. EC members once again congratulated Prof Y. C Saxena and his team for organizing a national conference of international standard.
- 7 EC approved the continuation of Printer "New United Press" for printing journal, Auditor "OP. Gupta" and Secretarial Assistant Mrs. Punita Aggarwal with a salary of Rs 12,000/ month in view of the satisfactory services rendered by these persons
- 8 To improve the quality of Journal further and to bring out the electronic publication, EC felt that ICC should appoint a full time person to take charge of the Journal publication. It was also felt by the EC that the best option will be to use services of a retired scientist with thorough knowledge of the field of cryogenics & superconductivity and publication. The EC requested Dr R. G Sharma to accept this responsibility. EC also decided that a monthly honorarium be paid for his services.
- 9 It was proposed that under the banner of ICC one day workshop on "Institute-Industry interaction meeting on Cryo-component development in India" will be organized by West zone. Mr Trilok Singh will be coordinating this workshop.

President, ICC initiated discussion one by one on the following important issues.

1. ICC Fellow and Member: In the last AGM meeting held on 21 st January, 2013 the EC (ICC) was entrusted to finalize the guidelines to elect fellows. There were lots of discussion on the criteria, number of Fellows etc. amongst the EC members. It was decided that to begin with we may elect about 40 Fellows and subsequently every alternate year a maximum of 5 Fellows subjected to a ceiling of 20 % of the total strength of the ICC Life Members at that point of time..

**The Basic criteria decided was**: He/she should be a member of ICC at least for five years. Minimum qualification is B. Tech/ M. Sc. As a special case

qualification may be relaxed, but he/she should have worked at least for 10 years in the field of Cryogenics / Superconductivity / Low Temperature Physics, his/her work should be well recognized at least on a national level. EC constituted a committee to elect the Fellows from the ICC member list. The Fellow Committee members are:

- 1. Dr. R K Bhandari
- 2. Dr Amit Roy
- 3. Prof Y. C Saxena
- 4. Prof Sunil Sarangi
- 5. Dr R G Sharma

## 2. ICC Awards

- i) Life Time achievement award: Since this award is going to be instituted first time since inception of ICC, it was also decided that during the next national symposium we can select a maximum of 6 numbers and the following preliminary guidelines were considered (Minimum age: 60, must be a life member of ICC, significant contribution and achievements). It was also decided that award should consist of a Citation and a Medal. ICC will bear the economy class travel cost for the candidates invited to receive the award. To select the awardees a committee was constituted with the following members to recommend the names to EC. The committee members are
- 1. Mr. T S Datta
- 2 Mr. Gautam Pal
- 3. Dr. B Sarkar
- 4. Prof. M.D Atrey
- 5.Dr. K Gireesan
- ii) Young Achiever Award: EC decided that every alternate year 2 awards will be given in this category. The guidelines are: (1) Age should not be more than 40 years (2) Must be a life member of ICC (3) Significant contribution in the field of Cryogenics & Applied Superconductivity. Nomination for this award will be made by the Fellows of ICC. The Fellow Committee will select the awardees from the list of nominations.

At the end Dr Bhandari thanked Director, VECC and his team for the local hospitality and support on hosting this meeting. The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair.