Minutes of the Executive Council of the Indian Cryogenic Council Held at VECC, Kolkata on June. 19, 2012

A meeting of the Executive Council (EC) of the ICC was held at the VECC, Kolkata on June 19, 2012. Dr. R.K. Bhandari, the President (ICC) chaired this meeting. Following were present

1. Dr. R.K. Bhandari President,ICC

2. Dr. Amit Roy Past Prsedent, ICC

3. Prof. R. Singh Member

4. Mr. Subimal Saha Secretary (Technical)
5. Mr. T.S. Datta Secretary (Administration)

6. Mr. Gautam Pal Treasurer

Mr. Ranadhir Dey
Dr. R.G. Sharma
Prof. S. L Bapat
Member (East Zone)
Vice President
Vice President

10. Mr. Uttam Bhunia Member (East Zone)
11. Mr. T K Bhattacharya Member (East Zone)

12. Dr. S C Sarkar Member13. Prof. V V Rao Member

14. Dr. Sandip Pal Member (East Zone)

The meeting started at 10.30 AM at the VECC Council room. Dr. Bhandari, President (ICC) welcomed the members to this meeting.

Discussions initiated with the confirmation of earlier minutes of EC meeting held on November 18, 2011 at IUAC. Minutes were confirmed. Minutes of GBM held at NIT Rourkela on October 2010 were also discussed. Minutes were approved with addition of missing line "ICC Statement of Accounts till March 2010 were approved by GB"

- 1. List of application for the new members were circulated. EC approved the new 17 additional members including Dr Sharat Kaushik, Director of an Engineering College. T S Datta informed that with this the total number of new members since 2006-07 is 207 in addition to 350 old members.
- 2. Mr. Subimal Saha, Secretary (Technical) briefed the Committee that auditing of the ICC account has been done for the period 2006-07 to 2010-11. Applications have been submitted to the concerned offices for the exemption of income tax and the correction in the PAN Card of the ICC. It was informed that when all documents will be ready application for changing address of Head Office will be resubmitted to registered office. He also informed about the one-day Workshop on "100 Years of Superconductivity and Birth Centenary of Prof. A. Bose, Founder of ICC" held at VECC earlier on December 2011

- 3. EC approved the following names (Dr R K Bhandari, Mr Subimal Saha, Mr Gautam Pal, Prof Saswati Lahiri) as authorized signatories for ICC Head office account. From the earlier recommended list Mr Ranadhir day is replaced by Mr. Gautam Pal.
- 4. Dr R G Sharma and T S Datta (Editorial board Member) briefed the Committee about the timely publication of the Vol. 36 (2011) and Vol. 37 (2012), each containing 35-36 research papers. They were also hopeful about the timely publication of Vol. 38 (2013) containing about 60 papers presented at ACACS 2011. These papers are being reviewed by referees. The editors also suggested some changes in the Editorial Advisory Board. Members were requested to suggest new names to consider as editorial advisory committee members in the next EC Meeting.
- 5. Members also discussed the possibility on availability of Electronic version of journal. It was felt that both the versions should be available and electronic version should be password protected. This need further discussion in the coming GBM.
- 6. T S Datta briefed about Income / expenditure details for Publication. Including enhancement of grant by DST from Rs 40,000/- to 1, 50,000/- in five years. On enquiry from members about subscriber list, he informed at present there are 25 subscribers and expected addition of at least 5 more. Finally it was confirmed that at present income on account of Journal is higher than expenditure, including the salary of Secretarial assistant for Journal.
- 7. The term for the present EC will be over by March 2013. President initiated discussion on New Committee. Members requested President to continue for another term. EC recommended for nomination of same committee for another term. It was also noted change in the EC. Prof S. L Bapat will replace Dr K. G Narayankhedkar as vice president, similarly Dr R. G Sharma will replace Dr A. K. Gupta. Committee also nominated Dr Anurag Gupta, NPL and Mr Soumen kar (IUAC) in place of Mr. R B Saxena and Dr Maitreyee Nanda. It was also felt that Mr N K. Gupta, LPSC is not actively engaged on ICC activities. President requested T S Datta to have a correspondence with N. K Gupta about suggestion on replacement from LPSC/ISRO.
- 8. EC appointed Mr Tamal Bhattacharya (VECC) as the returning officer for the conduct of Elections of EC (2013-2014).
- 9. Mr. Subimal Saha briefted about A/C Statement of Registered office. He informed about bank balance of Rs 2,11,000/- . It was mentioned about the receipt of Rs 50,000/- from West Bengal Govt. TS Datta briefed the EC about the A/C of ACASC 2011. About Rs.39 Lacs were received from various funding agencies and about Rs. 19 lacs were spent. Thus ICC coffer gets about Rs. 20 lacs which will help us to enhance ICC activities. It was informed that auditing account of ACASC 2011,

- ICC and Indian Journal of Cryogenics till March 2012 are completed. Closing balance of ICC till March 31, 2011 is 34.00 lakhs
- 10. Prof. Bapat made a presentation for the West Zone activity. West Zone has got accounts of last three years audited and trying to get accounts of previous three years. New committee is elected. Committee was also told that WZ has a flat close to IIT Bombay, Powai area and has been rented out. Chairman requested Prof Bapat to have detail information about the flat and possible option (Retain / Selling) and to be discussed in the next meeting. EC
- 11. No audited report from North Zone for last three years. Charge hand over to Adhoc Committee is not yet done. EC advised Mr. Datta and Mr. Saha to write to Dr. A K Gupta (Past Chairman of North Zone) to hand over the charge to Dr R G Sharma, Chairman (Adhoc Committee). It was also advised that T S Datta will request Dr Harikishan to convene a north zone meeting with new and old EC members.
- 12. South Zone was represented by Prof. Rajender Singh. He had no information from the Zonal HQ headed by Dr. Janawdkar. EC authorized Prof. Rajender Singh to arrange a one day programme at Hyderabad University and take increased interest in the activity of SZ.
- 13. Considering satisfactory services, EC approved the continuation of Printer "New United Press" for printing journal, Auditor "OP. Gupta" and Secretarial Assistant Mrs. Punita Aggarwal
- 14. No report on National Symposium on Cryogenics were presented as Prof Saxena (Chairman, NSC 24) and Dr Sarkar (Convener, NSC 24) could not attend the meeting
- 15. Mr. TS Datta informed the EC that the bid presentation on organizing ICEC 26 in 2016 at Delhi were made by Prof Subhas Jacob during ICEC 24 meeting at Fukoka, Japan. China also keen to organize this event. Presentation by India was well appreciated by other Members. Decision on this will be taken during CEC conference in 2013 in USA.
- 16. Dr R. G Sharma initiated discussion on enrolling honorary members from foreign countries. EC welcomed the decision and felt that Eminent Scientists, academics, Engineer in the field of Cryogenics and Superconductivity and also contributed/likely to contribute for the growth of cryogenics in India may be inducted. President requested all the members to recommend names with brief bio data for further consideration.

- 17. Considering the financial health of ICC, EC felt that it is right time to initiate awards to the members. EC decided that one life time achievement award and two young Scientists Award may be instituted. It was also decided that earlier awards, instituted by ICC may be started.
- 18. As per turn next NSC 25 should be in North Zone in 2014. In case ICEC decides for ICEC 26 (2016) in favor of Delhi. India, it will be appropriate to organize the NSC 25 in south zone., preferably at Hyderabad. Prof. Rajender Singh agreed to host this symposium in Hyderabad, if it is decided in South Zone.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair.